KEARNEY, Neb. — A blocked two-point kick attempt with less than one minute to play was the deciding factor in the D6 state championship.

Down by seven, Hay Spring's Gage Mintken scored his third touchdown of the game with 0:44 seconds to play to. The Hawks went for the lead by going for the two point kick, but Sumner-Eddyville-MIller's Ryan Arbuthnot blocked it to secure the 21-20 victory for S-E-M.

Maddox Jones led S-E-M with 161 yards rushing and two touchdowns. Chance Daake passed for 114 yards and one score.

Gage Mintken led Hay Springs with a game high 193 yards rushing and all three of the Hawks touchdowns.

S-E-M's victory gives the program its first state football title in program history.

Check out highlights in the video above!

#7 HAY SPRINGS (8-4) 0 14 0 6 - 20

#1 S-E-M (12-0) 0 8 6 0 7 - 21


touchdown with 0:44 left to playSumner-Eddyville-Miller's Ryan Arbuthnot blocked Hay Spring's go ahead two-point kick attempt with 0:44 seconds to play to secure a 21-20 victory for the Mustangs.